Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Logo
Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Events
Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Events


In this, our 11th season, and after a year-long posponement due to the health pandemic, the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame will a new class on Sunday, Sept. 19, 2021 at City Lit Theater. Frank London Brown, Jeanette Howard Foster, and Carlos Cortez represent the 2019 class, along with Gene Wolfe, who, as a former Fuller Award honoree, gained automatic induction upon his death. Co-presenters for the ceremony include the American Writers Museum, Poetry Foundation, Guild Literary Complex, National Museum of Mexican Art, Third World Press, Open Books, Chicago History Museum, Columbia College Chicago and Cliff Dwellers. The Gaylord & Dorothy Donnelley Foundation provides ongoing support.

Kathie Bergquist will emcee the ceremony. Kathleen Rooney, Carlos Cumpián, Tracy Baim, and Valya Dudycz Lupescu will be among the speakers. Debra E. Brown-Thompson, the oldest daughter of Frank London Brown, and Therese Wolfe-Goulding, Gene Wolfe’s daugher, will be on hand to accept statues. The event is free, but open only to those vaccinated against Covid-19. Registration is required. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.; program begins at 7. City Lit Theater, a 99-seat venue, will fill up quickly, so we recommend advance registration to guarantee your place.


Induction Ceremony
(Class of 2019) Program [PDF]

Share Facebook   Share on Twitter

Back to Events © 2021 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame is a federally registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. All donations are tax deductible.

Hannah Jennings Design