Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Logo
Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Events
Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Events


Rick Kogan: Fuller Award for lifetime achievement

Tuesday, October 18, 2022
7-9 p.m.

Chopin Theatre
1543 W. Division Street
Chicago, IL 60642
Registration now open.

View Video

Poster by Mary Livoni (photo by Daphne Walsh)

Rick Kogan started working as a reporter at the Chicago Sun-Times at the age of 16 and for the past half century has continued to turn out bylines in our city’s most important daily papers. Among his dozen nonfiction books, Rick’s true crime story, Everybody Pays: Two Men, One Murder and the Price of Truth, co-authored with Maurice Possley, stands out as a classic. He has served as an on-line reporter, commentator and host for a variety of television and radio outlets, including his current Sunday WGN-720 AM show, After Hours. Rick is a constant presence in Chicago’s cultural community, serving as impresario and interviewer for major events at the Printers Row Lit Festival, Chicago Humanities Festival, the old Story Week Festival, and many others. On Tuesday, Oct. 18, starting at seven p.m., Kogan was the 13th author honored with the Chicago’s prestigious Fuller Award for lifetime achievement. Newcity President & Founder Brian Hieggelke emceed a ceremony that included a performance by singer and writer Jamie O’Reilly, tributes by Nestor Gomez and Tony Fitzpatrick, and a conversation between Chicago Tribune editor Chris Jones and Rick. Photographer Charles Osgood presented the statue. Food and a cash bar followed the ceremony, with guests encouraged to enjoy the Chopin Theatre’s beautiful and spacious reception area. The event was free and open to the public.

In addition to Chopin Theatre, partners for the evening included Kurtis Productions, American Writers Museum, Newberry Library, WGN Radio, Eckhartz Press, Lamb’s Farm, Chicago Writers Association, Cliff Dwellers, All Things Literary, the Book Cellar, Open Books, Centuries & Sleuths, Seminary Co-op Bookstores, the Chicago Tribune, Chicago Bar Association, Chicago Quarterly Review, and Guild Literary Complex. A trio of Rick’s favorite Chicago dining spots have generously offered to provide food: the Billy Goat Tavern. Gibson’s Bar & Steakhouse, and Eli’s Cheesecake. Individual contributors include Paul Teodo and Tom Myers, Randy Albers, and Eve Moran.

Share Facebook   Share on Twitter

Photographer Charles Osgood congratulates Rick Kogan on winning the Fuller Award for his lifetime achievements.
Brian Hieggelke, the evening's emcee, chats with Kogan before the ceremony.
Co-owner Lela Headd Dyrkacz welcomes a Standing Room audience to the beautiful Chopin Theatre.
Nestor Gomez speaks about Rick Kogan's influence on his own incredible career.
Singer Jamie O'Reilly reflects on her relationship to Rick Kogan and his profound impact on Chicago's entire cultural community. (Photo by Don Seeley)
Legendary artist, writer and actor Tony Fitzpatrick mesmerizes the crowd with stories of his old friend, Rick Kogan. (Photo by Don Seeley)
Chicago Tribune colleague Chris Jones probes Rick Kogan about his life as a journalist and radio host. (Photo by Don Seeley)
The Fuller Award statue, designed by Ron Swanson, awaits delivery. (Photo by Don Seeley)
Almost 200 people were at the Chopin, including a group that watched the livestream on a big-screen television in the basement. (Photo by Don Seeley)
Chopin's bartenders were kept busy. (Photo by Don Seeley)
It was a star-studded audience, including Eric Charles May and Brenda Sawyer. (Photo by Don Seeley)
The after party in mirrored reflection. (Photo by Don Seeley)
American Writers Museum President, Carey Cranston, shares a story with Donna Seaman and Brian Hieggelke. (Photo by Don Seeley)
Scott Turow meets up with Tony Fitzpatrick after the ceremony.
Dave Hoekstra, Alex Kotlowitz, and Tony Fitzpatrick enjoy a laugh at the after party.
Chicago Quarterly Review Founder Syed Afzal Haider makes a point with Rick.

Back to Events

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame’s mission is to honor and preserve Chicago’s great literary heritage.
The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame is a federally registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. Donations are tax deductible. © 2024 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame

Hannah Jennings Design