Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Logo
Fuller Awards
Fuller Awards
Ana Castillo

Awarded March 24, 2022



The Mixquiahuala Letters, 1986

Sapogonia: An Anti-romance in 3/8 Meter, 1990

So Far from God, 1993

Peel My Love Like an Onion, 1999

My Daughter, My Son, the Eagle the Dove: An Aztec Chant, 2000

Watercolor Women, Opaque Men: A Novel in Verse, 2005

The Guardians, 2007

Give It to Me, 2014


Story collections

Loverboys, 1996


Otro Canto, 1977

The Invitation, 1979

Women Are Not Roses, 1984

My Father Was a Toltec and Selected Poems, 1973–1988, 1995

I Ask the Impossible, 2000

"Women Don't Riot"

"While I was Gone a War Began"

My Book of the Dead (2021)



black dove: mamá, mi'jo, and me, 2016

Massacre of the Dreamers: Essays on Xicanisma, 1994


Esta puente, mi espalda: Voces de mujeres tercermundistas en los Estados Unidos (with Norma Alarcón), 1988. (Spanish adaptation of This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color, edited by Cherríe Moraga.

As editor

The Sexuality of Latinas (co-editor, with Norma Alarcón and Cherríe Moraga), 1993

Goddess of the Americas: Writings on the Virgin of Guadalupe / La Diosa de las Américas: Escritos Sobre la Virgen de Guadalupe, 1996

Share Facebook   Share on Twitter

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame’s mission is to honor and preserve Chicago’s great literary heritage.
The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame is a federally registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. Donations are tax deductible. © 2024 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame

Hannah Jennings Design