Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Logo
Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Blog
Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Blog

Program Set for CLHOF’s 5th Annual Induction Ceremony

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Scholars, Artists and Family to be Present

What: CLHOF's 5th Annual Induction Ceremony

When: Saturday, Dec. 6, 2014, 7–9 p.m.

Where: Roosevelt University's Ganz Hall, 430 S. Michigan Ave., 7th Floor

How: Register to Ensure Your Seating


  • Rick Kogan — Opening Remarks
  • Herbert K. Russell — Presenting for Edgar Lee Masters
  • Nellie Ognacevic — Reading Lydia Puckett, Pauline Barrett and Lucinda Matlock from Spoon River Anthology
  • President Teresa Amott — Accepting on behalf of Knox College for Edgar Lee Masters
  • Useni Eugene Perkins — Presenting for Margaret Walker
  • Sandra Seaton — Reading from Margaret Walker’s For My People
  • Marion Coleman — Accepting for her mother Margaret Walker
  • Bayo Ojikutu — Presenting for Willard Motley
  • Leslie Holland Pryor — Reading from her great-grand uncle Willard Motley’s Knock On Any Door
  • K. Sheldon Bailey — Accepting for his great uncle Willard Motley
  • Carolyn Saper — Presenting the Rutledge Awards prizes
  • Kathleen Rooney — Presenting for Margaret Anderson
  • Cynthia Judge — Performing from June Skinner Sawyers’ Life Without Roses
  • Nell Taylor — Accepting on behalf of the Read/Write Library for Margaret Anderson
  • Dmitry Samarov — Presenting for Shel Silverstein
  • Mitch Myers — Accepting for his uncle Shel Silverstein
  • Marta Collazo — Presenting for David Hernandez and reading Why I Deal Words

Batya and Matea Hernandez will be among the many family member on hand to celebrate.

  • Julie Parson-Nesbitt — Reading David Hernandez’s The Day Chicago Blew Up
  • Jaime Diego Rivera — Reading David Hernandez’s Rooftop Piper and Kid Love
  • Matea Collazo — Playing violin to accompany her father’s poetry
  • Batya Hernandez — Accepting for her husband David Hernandez
  • Rick Kogan — Closing

Share Facebook   Share on Twitter

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame’s mission is to honor and preserve Chicago’s great literary heritage.
The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame is a federally registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. Donations are tax deductible. © 2024 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame

Hannah Jennings Design