Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Logo
Chicago Literature
Chicago Literature

Chicago Literature Index

The Girls, Edna Ferber, 1921

1001 Afternoons in Chicago, Ben Hecht, 1922

Blackguard, Maxwell Bodenheim, 1923

Crazy Man, Maxwell Bodenheim, 1923

Coffins for Two, Vincent Starrett, 1924

So Big, Edna Ferber, 1924 (Pulitzer Prize, 1925)

The Smiths, Janet Ayer Fairbank, 1925

Showboat, Edna Ferber, 1926

Diversey, MacKinlay Kantor, 1928

Quicksand, Nella Larsen, 1928

Little Caesar, W.R. Burnett, 1929

New Year’s Eve, James T. Farrell, 1929

Sixty Seconds, Maxwell Bodenheim, 1929

Thieves’ Nights, Harry Stephen Keeler, 1929

My Thirty Years’ War, Margaret Anderson, 1930

Put on the Spot, Jack Lait, 1930

The Second Twenty Years at Hull House, Jane Addams, 1930

A Virtuous Girl, Maxwell Bodenheim, 1930

Years of Grace, Margaret Ayer Barnes, 1930

Nineteen Nineteen, John Dos Passos, 1932

Thicker Than Water, Vera Caspary, 1932

Young Lonigan, James T. Farrell, 1932

Gas-House McGinty, James T. Farrell, 1933

The Face of the Man from Saturn, Harry Stephen Keeler, 1933

Calico Shoes and Other Stories, James T. Farrell, 1934

The Young Manhood of Studs Lonigan, James T. Farrell, 1934

Edna His Wife, Margaret Ayer Barnes, 1935

Guillotine Party and Other Stories, James T. Farrell, 1935

Judgment Day, James T. Farrell, 1935

Lucy Gayheart, Willa Cather, 1935

Midnight and Percy Jones, Vincent Starrett, 1936

The Old Bunch, Meyer Levin, 1937

A Poet’s Life: Seventy Years in a Changing World, Harriet Monroe, 1938

The Great Hotel Murder, Vincent Starrett, 1939

Native Son, Richard Wright, 1940

Never Come Morning, Nelson Algren, 1942

Twig, Elizabeth Orton Jones, 1942

Brenda Starr Girl Reporter, Dale Messick, 1943

Dick Tracy: Ace Detective, Chester Gould, 1943

The Master of the Murder Castle, John Bartlow Martin, 1943 (Harper’s article, contained in book form?)

Dangling Man, Saul Bellow, 1944

The Razor’s Edge, W. Somerset Maugham, 1944

The Case Book of Jimmy Lavender, Vincent Starrett, 1944

Black Boy, Richard Wright, 1945

The Far Away Music, Arthur Meeker, Jr., 1945

A Street in Bronzeville, Gwendolyn Brooks, 1945

Dark Hero, Peter Cheyney, 1946

Passage from Home, Isaac Rosenfeld, 1946

Behold A Cry, Alden Bland, 1947

The Fabulous Clipjoint, Fredric Brown, Ed and Am Hunter Mystery (#1), 1947

Sign up for CLHoF Announcements





Chicago Literary Hall of Fame
Email: Don Evans
641 W. Lake Street, Suite #200
Chicago, IL 60661
773.414.2603 © 2020 Chicago Literary Hall of Fame

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame is a federally registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. All donations are tax deductible.

Hannah Jennings Design